Enough Already!

I’ve found that trying to blog about my experience at LSSC11 is quite challenging simply because I have a flood of thoughts streaming through my head.  Frankly, I’m not sure where to start and where exactly to end.  I’m concerned that if I try to share all my thoughts in one post, it post will never end.  Because of this, I’ll publish my thoughts in a series of short postings over the course of the next couple of days (or weeks) as time permits.

For starters, LSSC11 was the first conference I’ve been to (maybe ever?) where there were no sacred cows touted, no best practices elicited and no meaningless debates between method X versus method Y.  I believe we’re coming to a place where we’re starting to accept as a community – yet a minority in my opinion – that there is no “silver bullet” but that the right combination of principles from differing sources can possibly yield great results.  We’re accepting that our environments are complex and are leveraging methods that exploit this fact instead of fight it.   We are discussing how to make people “matter more” because we realize (even more) that its people that really make a difference.  Finally, continuous learning is paramount; LSSC11 had an academic undercurrent to it which I’ve not observed at any other conference.  The list of reference material I need to read has doubled in size!

To summarize, I sense a movement that is saying very loudly and clearly “enough already” to some of the traditional ways of getting things done and is looking to embrace different ways (some that have been possibly rejected or ignored for years) as we move forward.  This is really exciting, make sure you don’t miss out!

About Ebenezer

culture hack. contrarian. change artiste. speaker. writer. silo-connector. entrepreneur. totally human. ff at your own risk. :-)
This entry was posted in Software Development and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Enough Already!

  1. Ebenezer,

    Nice post about LSSC11 – I fully agree especially about the lack of sacred cows. I found the conference refreshing and insightful – and I look forward to reading more about your musings from the week.

    Keep it up!
    Carool

    Like

  2. Ebenezer says:

    Hey Carol –

    Thanks a lot!

    Eb

    Like

  3. Hi Eb,

    Nice post. @agilemanager is to be commended. Bringing together different mindsets in the same conference must have forced all involved to question their assumptions. A roisky thing to do, but it sounds like it worked out well.

    Lets hope the intellectual under currents you picked up on turns into a flood. BTW do you mind sharing your reading list for those poor unfortunates (like me) who missed out? 🙂

    Thanks for blogging so soon.

    Paul.

    Like

    • Ebenezer says:

      Hey Paul –

      Yes, although I daresay that a conference is potentially only as good as it attendees! I will share that list shortly.

      Eb

      Like

Leave a Reply

