Speaking Technically

One of the interesting things about being a technical guy is that daily I find myself having to communicate technical information to non-technical individuals.  Terms that are common lingo for me, mean absolutely nothing to them.  For example, what does “an asynchronous operation” mean to a functional designer or how do I explain why REST is important to a product manager?

I find that being able to explain technical terms or phrases to non-technical individuals is generally an indication of how well I understand what I’m actually talking about.  The best technical presentations I have heard have always had speakers who were able to explain the most difficult concepts in simple terms.  Good architects should be able to explain technical concepts in layman terms.  This is something I really need to work on.

Anyone have tips on how they do this effectively?

About Ebenezer

culture hack. contrarian. change artiste. speaker. writer. silo-connector. entrepreneur. totally human. ff at your own risk. :-)
This entry was posted in Design and Architecture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

