Future of Web 2.0

The Futurist has an interesting post that surmises that human laziness is the bane of social networking (in it’s various forms), – the hallmark of “Web 2.0”. I’m not so sure that I completely agree with this in that I think “time” and it’s availability is more of a factor.

I know how hard it is for me to update my blog regularly and it’s simply because I have no time or I’m not willing to work 16 hour days (is that being lazy?). Over time, will I stop maintaining it semi-regularly? Only time will tell. I have gone for months without posting anything new to my blog before. I have also observed that most blogs of technocrats that I read are not updated regularly anymore.

In 1999, online chat rooms were the “in thing” and I participated in them religiously. However, with time I found myself having no time to participate. While I imagine that people are still participating in online chat rooms, I do wonder how popular they currently are.

There will always be a crowd for social networking, the size of the crowd will determine how prevalent social networking sites are.

Makes you wonder what Web 3.0 will be.

About Ebenezer

culture hack. contrarian. change artiste. speaker. writer. silo-connector. entrepreneur. totally human. ff at your own risk. :-)
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

